Return to the Mediterranean Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
oleander/toxic plants

Posted by FionaLasMolinas UK-Malaga! (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 5, 05 at 10:56

Does anyone have any accurate idea of just how toxic oleanders are? I love them & wanted to plant the whole length of our track, but just this weekend discovered they're poisonous & maybe it's not such a good idea for the sake of my 3 year old son! However that might just depend on WHICH bits of the plant are poisonous & HOW they do their evil. Can anyone help me out?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: oleander/toxic plants

Hi-

Oleanders are an extremely common non-native plant here in Southern California in the US. They are mostly used in areas with few humans - on highway shoulders or as borders in industrial areas. They have been used here for 40 years as I can remember. I am not a medical professional, but I understand that the sap, leaves and even smoke are all poisonous if consumed in significant amounts. This said, there are very, very few cases of poisoning, probably due to the local knowledge that this plant is dangerous.

About 8 years ago, I recall two small children dying in Los Angeles from ingesting oleander leaves. Their mother had left then alone to play in a backyard and did not know that the oleanders were poisonous. Apparently the emergency staff also made a delayed diagnosis, which gives you an idea of how rare this is. I am not sure what the antidote is for oleander poisoning, but I am sure that it would involve an urgent trip to the hospital.

I would not plant oleanders if I had small kids or pets and I would not leave kids or pets unattended in an area with oleanders.

Best regards, Shadows Mom

o

• Posted by Possie Algarve Portuga (My Page) on
    Sun, Sep 18, 05 at 9:33