Return to the Gardening in the UK Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anyone know anything about red ivys

Posted by rubbleshop UK zone 9 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 17, 07 at 14:58

Hi,

I am new to gardening but want to grow red ivy up my wall. I can't find anyone who sells it.

Does anyone know where I can get a reliable red strain?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone know anything about red ivys

• Posted by pond Portsmouth, UK (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 18, 07 at 5:09

Are you sure you're after ivy and not virginia creeper, which turns red in the autumn?

o

No, I want red ivy, because I want it to keep it's leaves all winter.

The only red on I can find is one I found in the wild and took a cutting. It has red leaves with yellow veins. However I have to check it through every few months and remove any rogue green shoots. I am looking for a proper one (i.e. commercially bred one) as I am hoping that would not produce any rogue green shoots, so would be less hassle. Also I imagine official strains may be even brighter as mine is burgandy red.

I can't find any red ivys on sale anywhere, so imagine I must be the only person who wants one.

o

fibrex near eversham is the national collection holder but i dont remember ever seeing a red cultivar you might have a one off there

o

Hedera Helix 'Glymii' has red-purple leaves with lighter-looking veins. New spring growth will be green as it takes on the reddish colouring in winter, according to the RHS encyclopaedia. Also 'Atropurpurea' may be worth a look.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hedera Helix Glymii

o

That's anice one - I will look into whether anyone is selling it.

It is quite different from mine. New shoots on mine are green or yellow with traces of burgandy, but darken with age to burgandyish.

Just been out in the dark and grabbed a handful of my ivy to show you.

Here is a link that might be useful: My wild ivy showing old leaves and one new one.

o

Gorgeous.