Return to the Gardening in the UK Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How do I take a cutting from a rose bush?

Posted by ymv13 Essex. UK (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 1, 05 at 15:23

I am a complete novice gardener and would love to be able to take a cutting from a 40 year old rose bush in my front garden (blooms every year)so that I have have the same variety in my newly landscaped rear garden.

How do I do this, and when is the best time?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Yvonne

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How do I take a cutting from a rose bush?

Hi Yvonne,

It is not at all difficult. I've done this many times.

Choose a straight stem and cut off about 12inches from the top just below a leaf node. Pull off the leaves along the stem and leave just two at the top.

Dig your spade into the ground where you want it to grow, wiggle it about to form a narrow hole and bury about six inches of the cutting into this wedge. Firm up the soil around the cutting, name it, water it and watch it grow.

Within a few weeks you will see more leaves appear, which is a sign that it has taken. Leave it in this spot until next spring, and then uproot it carefully and replant it.

I usually take three cuttings off a plant and share the extras with friends and neighbours.

You can use this method for many other perennials too, like ceonothus, clematis, geraniums, potentilla, euonymous, hebes, weigela and even abutilon. Just make sure you pick a healthy straight stem. For other flowers I only use about 6-8 inch stems and they work very well.

Do tell us how it goes,
Iona

o

• Posted by ymv13 Essex. UK (My Page) on
    Sat, Jul 2, 05 at 10:36

Thank you. I will give it a go.

Yvonne

o

Yvonne, l do mine in a similar way, last year l tried this for the first time, l cannot believe how easy it was.